My girls love to “read.” At this point this means that they like to sit in Mommy’s or Daddy’s lap with whatever book they brought for them to read. Occasionally I’ll catch them sitting in the floor “reading” together. This morning while I was getting ready for a relaxing day with the family I turned and saw Eleanor right outside the door. She had found her favourite book  (10 Little Rubber Ducks by Eric Carle). With a proud look on her face held it up: “DUCK!” She plopped down on the floor and began reading her book upside down.

The girls also really enjoy reading anything by Dr. Seuss. Audra loves it when her daddy reads Fox in Socks. I refuse to read it. I always get frustrated and tongue tied. At naptime she often demands that I read “ABC Book!” (Dr. Seuss’s ABC’s). It begins “Big A, little a, what begins with a?”

This year we will be going through the alphabet with the girls. Recipes will have key ingredients or methods that start with the appropriate letter of the alphabet. I hope that this will provide a fun media for exploring letters with the girls, though I may kick myself for this commitment as we reach the end of the alphabet and I have to find foods that begin with x, y, and z.

My husband and I are both making a conscious effort to write more often on our blogs. If you’re literate you should check out his blog.

